This is the "Prepare for the future" page of the "Summer Internship Opportunities" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Summer Internship Opportunities   Tags: college and career readiness, contests, employment, summer  

Summer Internship Opportunities
Last Updated: Sep 27, 2016 URL: http://flushinghighschool.libguides.com/summerinternships Print Guide RSS Updates

Prepare for the future Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books (Research Leads)

ELA Standards: Reading Informational Text

Integration of Knowledge & Ideas

Integrate and evaluate multiple sources of information presented in different media or formats (e.g., visually, quantitatively) as well as in words in order to address a question or solve a problem.

 

Use Books to help you formulate your career goals.   If you are unsure of your career goals, read about the different careers in our career section.

All the BOOKS below contain fantastic photographs that capture   work life.   Flushing High School Library has the books listed in the catalog.  Other BOOKS about  careers can be found at the Queens Public Library.

Cover Art
How to Get a Job and Keep It - Susan Morem
Call Number: 650.14 MOR
ISBN: 0894343513
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Useful advice for searching for any job, using the correct vocabulary, interviewing skills, body language and more.

Cover Art
What Color Is Your Parachute? for Teens - Richard Nelson Bolles; Carol Christen; Jean M. Blomquist
Call Number: 331.702 BOL
ISBN: 1580087132
Publication Date: 2006-04-01
If you don't know what you want to do, this book is for you. Helpful hints to discover your passion.

Cover Art
Best Career and Education Web Sites - Anne Wolfinger
Call Number: 025.06 WOL
ISBN: 159357312X
Publication Date: 2007
Detailed list of web sites for college and career leads.

Cover Art
Teens and Career Choices - Hal Marcovitz
Call Number: 331.702 MAR
ISBN: 1590848705
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Includes many charts and graphs describing teen career choices.

Cover Art
Cool Careers Without College for Web Surfers - Tonya Buell
ISBN: 0764146904
Publication Date: 2006-07-15

Cover Art
The Fashion Careers Guidebook - Julia Yates; Donna Gustavsen (Consultant Editor)
Call Number: 746.92 YAT
ISBN: 0764146904
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
If you are interested in a career,use the summer as an opportunity to intern. This book will give you tips about where to start your search.

Cover Art
Video Game Developer - Chris Jozefowicz
Call Number: 794.8 JOZ
ISBN: 1433919583
Publication Date: 2009-08-07
Find out if you have the right talent and passion to become a video game developer.

Cover Art
Internship and Volunteer Opportunities for People Who Love All Things Digital - Anastasia Suen
Call Number: 004.023 SUE
ISBN: 1448883008
Publication Date: 2012-12-15
How do you get your first job? This book gives you advice about how to get started on your dream career.

Quick Resume Builder

Build a resume online with this free guide from the New York State Department of Labor. 

 

10 Interview Tips for the High School Student

Website #1

ELA Standards: Writing—Research to Build and Present Knowledge

Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the usefulness of each source in answering the research question; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas, avoiding plagiarism and following a standard format for citation.

 

 Use jobzone to gather information, explore a career, and learn how you can achieve your dreams.

  • Job Zone
    Jobzone New York was created by the New York State Department of Labor to help you learn about different careers and help you find a job.
 

COMPUTER SCIENCE OPPORTUNITIES

CHECK WEBSITES FOR DEADLINES.  Many deadlines are as early as February!!!

DON'T WAIT TO THE LAST MINUTE TO APPLY.

Do you love gaming? Are you curious about how websites, apps or games are created?

Check out these great summer programs for teens:

Google CS SUMMER INSTITUTE: 

Apply here: google.eresources.com.

Click here for Qualifications:  

CSTUY

CS educational programs for high school students. all ages.

Accepting applications now.

Apply at cstuy.org/programs.

NYC Generation Tech

Learn html, CSS, Javascript and how to start a tech company.

8 week summer program.

Open to students in 8th-11th grades.

Apply at www.nycgenerationtech.com/apply.

Summer Youth Employment

If you are between 14-24 and live in New York City, you may qualify for the summer youth employment program.  Job opportunities exist in many different organizations.  Once you qualify for the program you can start interviewing for different positions.  Apply early, the positions go fast.

Opportunities in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math

City College of New York has many different summer internship opportunities, ranging from weather camp to photonics training (the science of optic light.)  Apply early!!

Museum Opportunities

Many museums in New York City offer summer internship experiences for high school students.  If you don't see your favorite museum below, call them directly and ask if they have a summer program.

EBSCO HOST Research Databases (NOVELNY)

      

    Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)

    • Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)
      Gale Cengage Learning Databases are New York State funded databases available to public students in school and from home. The Database requires a password for home access--which cannot be posted but provided to you by the Flushing High School Librarians.

    Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database (NOVELNY)

    • Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database (NOVELNY)
      The Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database has articles listed in various Lexiles from 200 to 1000 plus. The Database requires a username and password for FHS Library and home access--which cannot be posted but provided to you by the Flushing High School Librarians.

    Libguide Creator

    Profile Image
    Ms. E. Frank Bayer, librarian
    Contact Info
    Flushing High School Library Media Center
    Send Email
     

    College and Career Office

    Flushing High School has a college and career office in room 195E.  Visit the office for applications, assistance and advice.

     

    New Announcements

     

    Summer Writing Workshop 

    Be a voice for teens!! 

    Tell your stories. Get published!

     

    For NYC residents, ages 15-20.

    Be a part of Youth Communication's annual intensive writing workshop.

    Workshop is free.  All participants get a metrocard and $5 for lunch each day.  (Youth in foster care will receive a $600 stipend.)

    Apply online 

    bit.ly/ycteenwrite.

    Deadline usually beginning of May.

    Girls Write Now Mentee

    If you are a teen girl in grades 9-12 and want to take your writing to the next level with the help of a professional writer, you can apply for a one year long mentoring program at Girls Write.  

     

     Weill Cornell Medical College: Youth Scholars Program

    Science Interest

     

    Weill Cornell Medical College is looking for motivated NYC 11 grade high school students who are interested in the sciences to participate in their summer youth scholars program. This is a free, four week program run by the medical students at the medical college.

     Application includes:

    - One letter of recommendation from science teacher OR two letters of recommendation from a non-science teacher

    - Two short essays

    - High school transcripts

     If you are interested, please contact Andrew HIllman at wcmc.scholars@gmail.com and stop by the college office in room 195E for the application. Application deadline is April 13.

     

     

    Take a College Course This Summer

     

    Mercy College is offering a one week long summer program for high school students to take classes in the following majors:

    Business

    Computer Art & Design

    Criminal Justice

    International Relations & Diplomacy

    Music Industry and Technology (Fall Weekend Program)

    Classes are offered Monday through Friday from 9AM-5PM at $450.00 each class. 

    For more information please visit: www.mercy.edu/

     

    Interested in Accounting and Business

    JUNIORS - SERIOUSLY CHECK THIS OUT NOW!25Q460 | 4/8/2014 10:50:26 AM

    The Career Opportunities in the Accounting Profession (COAP) is looking to expose minority high school juniors to careers in the business world.

    This program is a FREE residential learning program offered in 4 different locations - Long Island University- Brooklyn Campus , Pace University (Manhattan Campus), St. John's University (Queens Campus) and St. John's University (Staten Island Campus). You will stay overnight on the campus dormitories for 5 days for free!

    Students will participate in workshops that cover topics such as finance, accounting, computers, and verbal communication skills. Students will attend trips to public accounting and government offices.

    Program dates are not up yet.

    Visit the website for the latest information.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip