This is the "Texts" page of the "The Story of Food" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Story of Food  

The Story of Food LibGuide presents the history, health benefits, social use, conflicts of growing and eating, and cost of growing and buying vegetables, fruit, nuts, and grains.
Last Updated: Dec 4, 2014 URL: http://flushinghighschool.libguides.com/storyoffood Print Guide RSS Updates
Texts Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books (Research Topic)

ELA Standards: Reading Informational Text

Integration of Knowledge & Ideas

Integrate and evaluate multiple sources of information presented in different media or formats (e.g., visually, quantitatively) as well as in words in order to address a question or solve a problem.


BOOKS are far superior to articles because they often have more images and text. Books should be the first stop in every research plan. 

All the BOOKS below contain fantastic photographs that capture            . Flushing High School Library has the books listed in the catalog.  Other BOOKS about       can be found at the Queens Public Library.

Cover Art
The Biography of Bananas - Rachel Eagen
ISBN: 9780778724834
Publication Date: 2005-10-31

Cover Art
The Biography of Chocolate - Adrianna Morganelli
ISBN: 9780778724810
Publication Date: 2005-10-31

Cover Art
The Biography of Coffee - Adrianna Morganelli
ISBN: 9780778724889
Publication Date: 2006-10-31

Cover Art
The Biography of Corn - L. Michelle Nielsen; L. Michelle Nielson
ISBN: 9780778724919
Publication Date: 2007-03-15

Cover Art
The Biography of Potatoes - Ellen Rodger
ISBN: 9780778724926
Publication Date: 2007-03-15

Cover Art
The Biography of Rice - John Paul Zronik; John Zronik
ISBN: 9780778724827
Publication Date: 2005-10-31

Cover Art
The Biography of Spices - Ellen Rodger
ISBN: 9780778724841
Publication Date: 2005-10-31

Cover Art
The Biography of Sugar - Rachel Eagen
ISBN: 9780778724858
Publication Date: 2005-10-31

Cover Art
The Biography of Tea - Carrie Gleason
ISBN: 9780778724933
Publication Date: 2007-03-15

Cover Art
The Biography of Tomatoes - Adrianna Morganelli
ISBN: 9780778724940
Publication Date: 2007-03-15

Cover Art
The Biography of Vanilla - Julie Karner
ISBN: 9780778724902
Publication Date: 2006-10-31

Cover Art
The Biography of Wheat - Jennifer Lackey
ISBN: 9780778724957
Publication Date: 2007-03-15

Cover Art
Child Labor and Sweatshops - Christine Watkins
ISBN: 9780737748741
Publication Date: 2010-09-10

Cover Art
Child Labor Today - Wendy Herumin
ISBN: 9780766026827
Publication Date: 2007-10-01

Cover Art
Child Labor - Clive Gifford
ISBN: 9781599202792
Publication Date: 2010-01-01

Cover Art
Food - Kathlyn Gay
ISBN: 9780761346074
Publication Date: 2012-10-01

Cover Art
Tall and Tasty - Meredith Sayles Hughes
ISBN: 0822528371
Publication Date: 2005-01-01

Cover Art
Flavor Foods - Meredith Sayles Hughes
ISBN: 0822528355
Publication Date: 2005-01-01

Cover Art
Hard to Crack - Meredith Sayles Hughes
ISBN: 082252838X
Publication Date: 2005-01-01

Cover Art
Yes, We Have Bananas! - Meredith Sayles Hughes
ISBN: 0822528363
Publication Date: 1999-09-01

Cover Art
Spill the Beans and Pass the Peanuts - Meredith Sayles Hughes
ISBN: 0822528347
Publication Date: 1999-08-01

Cover Art
Green Power - Meredith Sayles Hughes
ISBN: 0822528398
Publication Date: 2005-01-01

Cover Art
Stinky and Stringy - Meredith Sayles Hughes
ISBN: 0822528339
Publication Date: 1998-10-01

Cover Art
What the World Eats - Faith D'Aluisio; Peter Menzel (Photographer)
ISBN: 9781582462462
Publication Date: 2008-08-01

EBSCO HOST Research Databases

Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)

  • Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)
    Gale Cengage Learning Databases are New York State funded databases available to public students in school and from home. The Database requires a password for home access--which cannot be posted but provided to you by the Flushing High School Librarians.

Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database (NOVELNY)

  • Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database (NOVELNY)
    The Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database has articles listed in various Lexiles from 200 to 1000 plus. The Database requires a username and password for FHS Library and home access--which cannot be posted but provided to you by the Flushing High School Librarians.

United States Department of Labor: Child Labor in Commercial Agriculture Webpage

United States Department of Labor. Child Labor In Commercial Agriculture. N.d. Web. 2013-2014.

Time Magazine Article

Rudovsky-Friedman, Jean. "In Latin America Looking at the Positive Side of Child Labor". Time Magazine. 16 Nov. 2011. Web. 2013-2014.

Librarian

Profile Image
Miss Nixon, MLS
Contact Info
718-888-7500 Ext. 6060
Send Email

Library Research Task #1

ELA Standards: Writing

Production and Distribution of Writing

Use technology, including the Internet, to produce, publish, and update individual or shared writing products, taking advantage of technology’s capacity to link to other information and to display information flexibly and dynamically.

 

Read 1 Book or 1 Chapter Selection from a BOOK in the LibGuide.

Record 5 facts and 5 responses to each fact on the Fact/Feel Journal Organizer.

Type an Annotation for each Book or Chapter selection read (75-word summary and 50-300-word analysis of or reaction to the reading).

Library Research Task #2

Research One (1) article from a database from the LibGuide.

Record 5 facts and 5 responses to each fact on the Fact/Feel Journal Organizer.

Type an Annotation for each Book or Chapter read (75-word summary and 75-word analysis or reaction to the article).

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip