This is the "Texts" page of the "MyLibraryNYC " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MyLibraryNYC  

MyLibraryNYC LibGuide presents the Queens Public Library website, the Pew Research Center survey about public library use, and the 2013 Mayor's Preliminary Report on public library usage.
Last Updated: May 21, 2014 URL: http://flushinghighschool.libguides.com/mylibrarynyc Print Guide RSS Updates

Texts Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

ELA Standards: Reading Informational Text

Integration of Knowledge & Ideas

Integrate and evaluate multiple sources of information presented in different media or formats (e.g., visually, quantitatively) as well as in words in order to address a question or solve a problem.

 

BOOKS are far superior to articles because they often have more images and text. Books should be the first stop in every research plan. 

All the BOOKS below contain information about library careers and resources. Flushing High School Library has the books listed in the catalog.  Other BOOKS about the library can be found at the Queens Public Library.

Cover Art
Library and Information Science - Ferguson
ISBN: 0816080321
Publication Date: 2011-05-01

Cover Art
The Library of Congress - Andrew Santella (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780756516314
Publication Date: 2006-01-01

Website #1: LIBRARIES NOW: A DAY IN THE LIFE VIDEO

ELA Standards: Writing—Research to Build and Present Knowledge

Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the usefulness of each source in answering the research question; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas, avoiding plagiarism and following a standard format for citation.

 

  • Libraries Now: A Day In The Life
    Libraries Now: A Day In The Life "video offers a surprising look at how library branches in New York City have evolved into community centers, providing a whole array of services and programs."

Website #2: Queens Public Library

  • Queens Public Library
    The Queens Public Library serves 2.3 million people from 62 locations plus seven Adult Learning Centers and two Family Literacy Centers. It circulates among the highest numbers of books and other library materials in the country.

Website #3: 2013 Preliminary Mayor's Management Report

Preliminary Mayor's Management Report. "Public Libraries: Brooklyn, New York, and Queens Public Libraries PDF"  2013. Web. 199-202.  2014.

Website #4: Pew Research Center

Rainie, Lee. “10 Facts About Americans and Public Libraries.”  Pew Research Center: Numbers, Facts and Trends Shaping Your World.  24 Jan. 2014.  Web. 2014.

 

Website #5: College Selection and College Libraries

Greer, Jeff.  "4 Reasons Why the Library Should Affect Your College Choice."  U.S. News & World Report.  17 June 2010.  Web.  2014.

EBSCO HOST Research Databases (NOVELNY)

      

    Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)

    • Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)
      Gale Cengage Learning Databases are New York State funded databases available to public students in school and from home. The Database requires a password for home access--which cannot be posted but provided to you by the Flushing High School Librarians.

    Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database (NOVELNY)

    • Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database (NOVELNY)
      The Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database has articles listed in various Lexiles from 200 to 1000 plus. The Database requires a username and password for FHS Library and home access--which cannot be posted but provided to you by the Flushing High School Librarians.

    Librarian

    Profile Image
    Miss Nixon, MLS
    Contact Info
    718-888-7500 Ext. 6060
    Send Email

    Pew Research Center Questions

    Click on the Pew Research Center Questions link below.  Then, scroll down and click on "Pew Questions" to open the PDF file.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip