This is the "Texts" page of the "Juvenile Populations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Juvenile Populations  

Juvenile Populations LibGuide presents information about youth conflicts and incarceration in New York State, Chicago, and Colorado.
Last Updated: Jul 17, 2015 URL: http://flushinghighschool.libguides.com/juvenilepopulations Print Guide RSS Updates

Texts Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books (Research Topic)

ELA Standards: Reading Informational Text

Integration of Knowledge & Ideas

Integrate and evaluate multiple sources of information presented in different media or formats (e.g., visually, quantitatively) as well as in words in order to address a question or solve a problem.

 

BOOKS are far superior to articles because they often have more images and text. Books should be the first stop in every research plan. 

All the BOOKS below contain fantastic information about youth conflicts in society that lead to violence, incarceration, and death. Flushing High School Library has the books listed in the catalog.  Other BOOKS about youth conflicts can be found at the Queens Public Library.

Cover Art
Prisons - Ann Graham Gaines
ISBN: 0791043150
Publication Date: 1999-01-01

Cover Art
Gangs - Peggy Daniels
ISBN: 0737738154
Publication Date: 2007-12-13

Cover Art
Drugs and Gun Violence - Maryann Miller
ISBN: 0823920607
Publication Date: 1996-07-15

Cover Art
Teens at Risk - Auriana Ojeda (Editor)
ISBN: 073771915X
Publication Date: 2004-01-01

Cover Art
Tattoos and Secret Societies - Jason Porterfield
ISBN: 9781404218277
Publication Date: 2008-08-01

Cover Art
Yummy - Greg Neri; Randy DuBurke (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781584302667
Publication Date: 2007-04-01

Cover Art
Always Running - Luis J. Rodríguez
ISBN: 0671882317
Publication Date: 1994-02-09

Cover Art
My Bloody Life - Reymundo Sanchez
ISBN: 9781556524271
Publication Date: 2000-07-01

Cover Art
Once a King, Always a King - Reymundo Sanchez
ISBN: 1556525052
Publication Date: 2003-10-01

 

(Research Topic) Documentary Films

ELA Standards: History/Social Studies--Integration of Knowledge & Ideas 

  • Integrate and evaluate multiple sources of information presented in diverse formats and media (e.g., visually, quantitatively, as well as in words) in order to address a question or solve a problem.

 America Beyond The Color Line (2003) DVD is a documentary film with 1 disc that has 4 60 minute shows.  Part II: Streets of Heaven focuses upon poverty, unemployment, and juvenile incarceration populations in a Chicago neighborhood.

Juvenile Online Documentary Film #1

Frontline: When Kids Get Life.  Dir. Ofra Bikel.  WGBH Educational Foundation, 2007.  DVD

Juvenile Online Documentary Film #2

Frontline: The Interrupters.  Dir. Steve James. Kartemquin Films, (2011). DVD

Juvenile Population Website #1

ELA Standards: Writing—Research to Build and Present Knowledge

Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the usefulness of each source in answering the research question; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas, avoiding plagiarism and following a standard format for citation.

Juvenile Residential Placement Logo

National Center for Juvenile Justice. Easy Access to the Census of Juveniles in Residential Placement: 1997-2012.  16 Dec. 2011. Web. 2015-2016.

Juvenile Populations Website #2

National Center for Juvenile Justice. Easy Access to Juvenile Populations: 1990-2010.  16 Dec. 2011. Web. 2015-2016.

Juvenile Population Website #3

Frontline Juvenile Justice Youths

WGBH Educational Foundation. Juvenile Justice.  Frontline. 2011. Web. 2015-2016.

Juvenile Populations Website Article #1

  

Liptak, Adam.  "Jailed for Life After Crimes as Teenagers."  The New York Times. 03 Oct. 2005. Web. 2015-2016.

Juvenile Populations Website Article #2

Smith, Patricia.  "Locked Away Forever."  New York Times Upfront. 02 Jan. 2012.  Web. 2015-2016.

Juvenile Population Website Article #3

 

Richards, Eugene. Tryon's Youngest Resident. Photo. New York Magazine. 24 Jan. 2010. Web. 2015-2016.

  • The Lost Boys of Tryon (NY Magazine 01/24/10)
    Gonnerman, Jennifer. "The Lost Boys of Tryon: Inside New York's Most Infamous Juvenile Prison, Where Troubled Kids--Abused and Forgotten-Learn to Become Troubled Adults." New York Magazine. 24 Jan. 2010. Web. 2015-2016.

Juvenile Population Website Article #4

Winter, Damon. Outside Edwin. Photo. The New York Times. 12 Feb. 2010. Web. 2015-2016.

Juvenile Population Website Article #5

Deutsch, Robert.Tamara Steckler: Legal Aid Attorney. Photo. USA Today. 03 Feb. 2010. Web. 2015-2016.

Juvenile Population Website Article #6


The New York Times. Article Headline. 24 Aug. 2009. Web. 2015-2016.

EBSCO HOST Research Databases

Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)

  • Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)
    Gale Cengage Learning Databases are New York State funded databases available to public students in school and from home. The Database requires a password for home access--which cannot be posted but provided to you by the Flushing High School Librarians.

Librarian

Profile Image
Miss Nixon, MLS
Contact Info
718-888-7500 Ext. 6060
Send Email

LIBRARY RESEARCH TASK #1

ELA Standards: Writing

Production and Distribution of Writing

Use technology, including the Internet, to produce, publish, and update individual or shared writing products, taking advantage of technology’s capacity to link to other information and to display information flexibly and dynamically.

 

Read 1-3 Books or Chapter Selections from BOOKS in the LibGuide.

Record 5 facts and 5 responses to each fact on the Fact Response Journal Organizer.

Type an Annotation for each Book or Chapter selection read (75-word summary and 75-word critique).

* Teacher Assigned: Type a Research Paper about an assigned research topic.

  • Fact Response Journal
    Click on the Fact/Feel Journal Word File so that you may type on the document.
  • Article Annotation Model
    The Article Annotation PDF file is a model for format. The model shows an MLA citation, 75-word article summary, and 75-word critique of the article.
  • Librarian MLA Term Paper Model: Drug Abuse
    The Librarian MLA Term Paper Model shows students the finished product of a successful research that includes MLA In-Text citation and Works Cited page of Flushing High School Database resources and print resources.
  • Librarian MLA Term Paper with Images Model: Drug Abuse
    The Librarian MLA Term Paper with images Model shows students the finished product of a successful research that includes MLA In-Text citation and Works Cited page of Flushing High School Database resources and print resources. The paper makes use of an image from the Library of Congress website, sidebar of information from a book, and a chart from World Book Student Database.
 

Library Research Task #2

View One (1) Online Documentary Film from the Juvenile Populations LibGuide.

Record 5 facts and 5 responses to each fact on the Fact Response Journal Organizer.

Type an Annotation for each Book or Chapter read (75-word summary and 75-word critique).

     

    Student Research Task #3

    Research One (1) Website Link from the Juvenile Populations LibGuide.

    Record 5 facts and 5 responses to each fact on the Fact/Feel Journal Organizer.

    Type an Annotation for each Book or Chapter read (75-word summary and 75-word critique).

      LIBRARY RESEARCH TASK #4

       Publish your topic research findings (based on teacher instructions for options below):

      Microsoft Office Word 2007           

      Argument, Informative, or

           Explanatory Essay

      Narrative or Term Paper

      Microsoft Office PowerPoint 2007:

       PowerPoint Presentation 

      Microsoft Office Publisher 2007:

      Poster, Pamphlet, or Brochure

      Newsletter or Timeline

      Digital Camera:

      3-5 minute Documentary Short  Film

       

          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip