This is the "Texts" page of the "Greek History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Greek History LibGuide presents living conditions, war, and social relationships in ancient Greece.
Last Updated: Dec 7, 2014 URL: http://flushinghighschool.libguides.com/greekhistory Print Guide RSS Updates

Texts Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books Greek History

ELA Standards: Reading Informational Text

Integration of Knowledge & Ideas

Integrate and evaluate multiple sources of information presented in different media or formats (e.g., visually, quantitatively) as well as in words in order to address a question or solve a problem.

 

BOOKS are far superior to articles because they often have more images and text. Books should be the first stop in every research plan. 

All the BOOKS below contain fantastic information that capture ancient Greek civilization. Flushing High School Library has the books listed in the catalog.  Other BOOKS about ancient Greek civilization can be found at the Queens Public Library.

Cover Art
Slavery - Milton Meltzer
Call Number: 306.3 MEL
ISBN: 0306805367
Publication Date: 1993-08-22
Book contains a chapter entitled "Odysseus and His Slaves" on pages 47-50.

Cover Art
The Ancient Greeks at Home and Work - Don Nardo
ISBN: 1590185269
Publication Date: 2004-05-21
Book contains a chapter entitled, "Slaves: Their Roles in the Home and in Society" on pages 56-68.

Cover Art
Slavery Throughout History - Theodore L. Sylvester
ISBN: 0787631779
Publication Date: 1999-12-06
Book contains a chapter entitled, "Slavery in Greece (c. 1200-330 B.C.E.) on pages 35-56.

Cover Art
Five Thousand Years of Slavery - Marjorie Gann; Janet Willen
ISBN: 0887769144
Publication Date: 2011-01-11
Book contains a chapter entitled, "Rebellion and Revenge: Ancient Greece and Rome" on pages 11-20.

Cover Art
City States - Anne Wright
ISBN: 0765681293
Publication Date: 2007-10-02
Book contains chapter entitled, "Slavery" on pages 65-75.

Cover Art
Slavery in Ancient Greece and Rome - Jacqueline Dembar Greene; Franklin Watts, Inc. Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 0531165396
Publication Date: 2001-03-01
Book contains chapters entitled, "Society Built on Slavery" and "Slave Life in Greece" on pages 7-19.

Cover Art
Ancient Greece - Don Nardo
ISBN: 1590186516
Publication Date: 2005-09-20
Book contains a chapter entitled, "Incessant Warfare Exhausts the Greeks" on pages 63-73.

Cover Art
War and Warfare - Anne Wright
ISBN: 0765681331
Publication Date: 2007-10-02

Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)

  • Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)
    Gale Cengage Learning Databases are New York State funded databases available to public students in school and from home. The Database requires a password for home access--which cannot be posted but provided to you by the Flushing High School Librarians.
 

Greek History Documentary Films

ELA Standards: History/Social Studies--Integration of Knowledge & Ideas 

  • Integrate and evaluate multiple sources of information presented in diverse formats and media (e.g., visually, quantitatively, as well as in words) in order to address a question or solve a problem.

  Athens: The Dawn of Democracy. (PBS—2007). 120 min. DVD

Last Stand of the 300: The Legendary Battle At Thermopylae (History Channel—2007) 91 min. DVD

The Greeks: Crucible of Civilization (PBS—1999).140 min. DVD

Greek History Site #1

ELA Standards: Writing—Research to Build and Present Knowledge

Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the usefulness of each source in answering the research question; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas, avoiding plagiarism and following a standard format for citation.

BBC Primary History: Ancient Greeks

British Broadcasting Company. Primary History: Ancient Greeks. 2011. Web. 2013-2014. 

  • Primary History: Ancient Greeks
    BBC Primary History Ancient Greeks Website—The website presents information on living conditions, war, and family life in Ancient Greece.

Greek History Site #2

British Museum. Ancient Greece. n.d. Web. 2013-2014. 

  • Ancient Greece
    The British Museum Ancient Greece Website—The website has information on living conditions, war, and family life in Ancient Greece.

Greek History Site #3

British Museum. Ancient Greece. n.d. Web. 2013-2014.

Greek History Site #4

Public Broadcasting Corporation. The Greeks: Crucible of Civilization. n.d. Web. 2013-2014.

Greek History Site #5

Miller, Andrew. Adventures in Ancient GreeceStaffordshire University. n.d. Web. 2013-2014.

  • Adventures in Ancient Greece
    Adventures in Ancient Greece Website—The website has information on living conditions, war, and family life in Ancient Greece.

Greek History Site #6

Windows2Universe. Classical Mythology: Differentiated Greek Mythology Pathfinder. 2012. Web. 2013-2014. 

Librarian

Profile Image
Miss Nixon, MLS
Contact Info
718-888-7500 Ext. 6060
Send Email

LIBRARY RESEARCH TASK #1

ELA Standards: Writing

Production and Distribution of Writing

Use technology, including the Internet, to produce, publish, and update individual or shared writing products, taking advantage of technology’s capacity to link to other information and to display information flexibly and dynamically.


Read 1-3 Books or Chapter Selections from BOOKS in the LibGuide.

Record 5 facts and 5 responses to each fact on the Fact/Feel Journal Organizer.

Type an Annotation for each Book or Chapter selection read (75-word summary and 75-word critique).

LIBRARY RESEARCH TASK #2

View 1 online Documentary Film from the LibGuide.

Record 5 facts and 5 responses to each fact on the Fact/Feel Journal Organizer.

Type an Annotation for the film (75-word summary and 100-300-word critique).

LIBRARY RESEARCH TASK #3

Research 1 Website Link selection from the LibGuide.

Record 5 facts and 5 responses to each fact on the Fact/Feel Journal Organizer.

Type an Annotation for the selected website link  (75-word summary and 75-word critique).

LIBRARY RESEARCH TASK #4

 Publish your topic research findings (based on teacher instructions for options below):

Microsoft Office Word 2007           

Argument, Informative, or

     Explanatory Essay

Narrative or Term Paper

Microsoft Office PowerPoint 2007:

 PowerPoint Presentation 

Microsoft Office Publisher 2007:

Poster, Pamphlet, or Brochure

Newsletter or Timeline

Digital Camera:

3-5 minute Documentary Short  Film

 

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip