This is the "Regents Review" page of the "Global History: Regents Review" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Global History: Regents Review   Tags: global history, global history regents examination, social studies  

Use these sites to help you pass the Global History Regents Exam.
Last Updated: May 3, 2017 URL: http://flushinghighschool.libguides.com/globalreview Print Guide RSS Updates

Regents Review Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

1. Books (Research Topic)

ELA Standards: Reading Informational Text

Key Ideas and Details

 Determine a central idea of a text and analyze its development over the course of the text, including how it emerges and is shaped and refined by specific details; provide an objective summary of the text.

 

BOOKS are far superior to articles because they often have more images and text. Books should be the first stop in every research plan. 

All the BOOKS below contain fantastic graphics that capture  main themes in world history. Flushing High School Library has the books listed in the catalog.  Other BOOKS about global history review       can be found at the Queens Public Library.

Cover Art
Global History Volume One - Mark Willner; Jerry Weiner; George A. Hero
Call Number: Textbooks
ISBN: 0764158112
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Colorful pictures, highlighted timelines, terms and phrases highlighted, includes practice DBQs for each theme.

World History: Connections to Today - Elisabeth G. Ellis
Call Number: Textbooks
Publication Date: 2005
Brief summary of major events in history, many photographs, maps and charts included. Each unit concludes with assessment, both multiple choice and essay questions.

Cover Art
Mastering Global Studies - James Killoran; Stuart Zimmer; Mark Jarrett; Ronald Zimmer (Illustrator)
Call Number: Textbooks
ISBN: 188242204X
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
Covers each major topic in less than five pages, many helpful charts to help you learn about famous people, places and events and themes central to global history.

Cover Art
Exploring Your World - Donald J. Crump (Editor)
Call Number: 910 NAT
ISBN: 0870447262
Publication Date: 1994-06-01
Great book to answer the question how does geography influence the culture and history of a country. Large colorful photographs. Sections on rivers, rocks, trade winds and other geographical wonders.

Cover Art
War and Warfare - Anne Wright
Call Number: 938 WRI
ISBN: 0765681331
Publication Date: 2007-10-02
Discover how ancient warfare influenced the wars of today. Many colorful illustrations and photographs of artifacts.

Cover Art
Rich and Poor in Ancient Greece - Stewart Ross
Call Number: 938 ROS
ISBN: 1583407219
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
Includes fun quotes and photographs of daily life in Ancient Greece, see their jewelry, look at their gods, find out about their plays and their parties!!

Cover Art
Rome - Nick McCarty
Call Number: 937 MCC
ISBN: 140421366X
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
How did Rome become an empire? Examine the famous paintings, sculptures and coins the Romans left behind in this colorful book about Ancient Rome.

Cover Art
The Church - Kathryn Hinds
Call Number: 942.05 HIN
ISBN: 0761425454
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
This is part of a series of life in Elizabethan England. Fun fact: a cruel "scold's bridle", similar to a muzzle was used on women who were outspoken both in England and the United States. (Hinds, 42.)

Cover Art
Daily Life During the French Revolution - James M. Anderson
Call Number: 944 AND
ISBN: 0313336830
Publication Date: 2007-02-01
Filled with quotes, facts and illustrations of daily life during the French Revolution. See a game board, look at the political cartoon, study the clothing styles, or "sans-culotte" as they say in French. Helpful glossary included.

Cover Art
In the Trenches in World War I - Adam Hibbert
Call Number: 940.3 HIB
ISBN: 1410914666
Publication Date: 2005-07-01
Much of global history is the study of war. Start your exploration with this colorful description of life in the trenches. Good supplement to All Quiet on the Western Front.

Cover Art
The First World War and the End of the Ottoman Order - Kristine Brennan
Call Number: 940.3 BRE
ISBN: 1422201686
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Read all the basic facts about World War I in 70 pages, many photographs and helpful glossary.

Cover Art
World War II in Europe - John F. Wukovits
Call Number: 940.54 GAV
ISBN: 1590181859
Publication Date: 2004-06-18
Why was Hitler called an amazing speaker? How did he command most of Europe? Follow Hitler's "gangster diplomacy" and read about the world's reaction to him. black and white photographs, quotes.

Cover Art
The Holocaust - James R. Norton
Call Number: 940.53 NOR
ISBN: 1404218211
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
One of many books in our collection about genocide. Includes brief descriptions of the rise of anti-Semitism in Germany, the rise of the death camps and the influence on other genocides.

Cover Art
1945 to the Cold War - Neil Morris
Call Number: 909.82 MOR
ISBN: 9788860981844
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Collage type graphics of major movements from 1945 to the Cold War. Includes summary of Communist China, revolts in Central and South America, Rise of Japan and the Collapse of the Soviet Union.

The Fall of the Berlin Wall - Brian Williams
Call Number: 943 WIL
ISBN: 1583404090
Publication Date: 2003-08-01
What was Berlin like on November 10, 1998? Imagine you were living in Berlin. Find out what life was like for people in East Berlin both before and after the wall came down.

Cover Art
Genocide and the Bosnian War - Jacqueline Ching
Call Number: 949.703 CHI
ISBN: 1404218262
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
Genocide is more common during the twentieth century than ever before. This book is part of a series Genocide in Modern Times/ There are also books on Darfur, Khmer Rouge, Rwanda and the Holocaust.

Cover Art
Denmark - Heather Docalavich
Call Number: 948.9 DOC
ISBN: 1422200434
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Part of a series about countries in the European Union. Includes quick fact sections, recipes, timeline, Internet resources.

Cover Art
China under Reform - Zhimin Lin
Call Number: 951.05 LIN
ISBN: 1590848233
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Highlights changes in China from the 1980s to today. Many photographs, glossary and timeline included.

Tiananmen Square - Jane Bingham
Call Number: 951.05 BIN
ISBN: 0739866494
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Part of a series, Days that Shook the World. Large number of photographs and quotes. Each chapter is one-two pages long.

2. Test Yourself Websites

ELA Standards: Integration of Knowledge and Ideas

CSS-ELA9-10.8: Assess the extent to which the reasoning and evidence in a text support the author’s claim or a recommendation for solving a scientific or technical problem.

 

 Use these websites to test yourself.

3. AP Help

Try these sites to help you review for the AP exam.

4. Vocabulary Websites

Learning the KEY TERMS will help you answer questions correctly. 

MEMORY TIP; Use a different color for each topic.  Example: All of words associated with Imperialism should be in red. The color red would remind you of blood and war. Countries often use war to dominate a country.

5. Map Skills

Knowing where the countries are located will help you answer map questions.

7. Need Help With DBQs

TIPS FOR Data Based Questions:

  1. Read the question carefully.
  2.  Look for the answer in the documents presented.
  3.  Include outside RELEVANT information in your answer.
  4. Proof read your essay at least TWICE before you hand it in.

See the complete list of DBQ Do's and Don'ts on the Oswego High School Online Writing Guide: DBQ Essays.

 

8. Review Sheets and Quizzes

History Teacher has review quizzes.  Review Sheets Central has review sheets. 

9. Regents Practice: More Interactive Quizzes and Review Sheets

  • SYVUM
    Interactive regents prep, narrows down choices to 2 fields.

11. Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database (NOVELNY)

  • Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database (NOVELNY)
    The Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database has articles listed in various Lexiles from 200 to 1000 plus. The Database requires a username and password for FHS Library and home access--which cannot be posted but provided to you by the Flushing High School Librarians.

12. EBSCO HOST Research Databases (NOVELNY)

13. Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)

  • Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)
    Gale Cengage Learning Databases are New York State funded databases available to public students in school and from home. The Database requires a password for home access--which cannot be posted but provided to you by the Flushing High School Librarians.
 

14. Search Our Catalog

Look for more resources in our library.

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

15. For Teachers

Subject Guide Author

Profile Image
Ms. E. Frank Bayer
Contact Info
Ms. E. Frank Bayer, librarian
Flushing High School
35-01 Union Street
Flushing, New York 11354
(718)888-7500
Send Email

Flushing Campus Regents Portal

FLUSHING CAMPUS has created this great site which includes videos, shortcuts and more links for ALL the regents exam.

Think of this site as "One SIZE FITS ALL."  It may be all you need!!!

 

What Do I Do?

You want to ACE the Global Studies Exam. Here's your action plan:

  1.  Look up the date of your exam. (Check the Regents Examination Schedule).
  2.  Count the number of days until your exam, and plan a goal for each day.
  3.  Each week should include a weekly pre- test. Use Test Yourself Websites to help you.
  4.  Find out what you need to study.  Review the vocabulary cards for the unit. Use Vocabulary Websites to help.
  5.  Find a review sheet for your area, highlight the important words on the review sheet.
  6.  Look for more questions dealing with the topic you are studying.  Take a practice quiz to see if you improved.
  7.  Review map skills or political cartoons.

WEEK 2: Review the steps above with a different topic.

16. Exam Schedules

 Check the dates below.

TIMES MAY CHANGE. CHECK WITH YOUR SCHOOL TO FIND OUT THE EXACT START TIME OF YOUR EXAM.

Remember to bring a PHOTO ID, 2 pencils and 2 pens with you on exam days!!!

 

17. Multimedia Resources

 
Teachers:  We have the following DVDS to assist you with Global Regents preparation in the classroom.
 

 

I, Caesar The Rise and Fall of the Roman Empire

294 Minutes, DVD,Kultur International Films.(2008)

DVD # 1469

Overview of six leaders of the Roman Empire: Julius Caesar, Augustus, Nero, Hadrian, Constantine and Justinian.  Includes location footage, unseen images and re-enactments.

Alexander the Great and the Fall of the Persian Empire

50 minutes, DVD, Schlessinger Media. (2005).

DVD#1447

Explores the challenges faced by the Persian Empire during the 4th centruy BCE under the leadership of Alexander the Great.

 

Ancient China

23 minutes, DVD, Schlessinger Media. (2004).

DVD # 1134.

Explores the legacy of Emperor Qin who was responsible for the construction of the Great Wall of China.   Discover how the "Silk Road" opened trade routes to China.

 

      

    18. World History in Context

    Do you want more information about a specific person or a specific time period.

    This database compiles primary source materials, film clips, journal articles and other links all in one reference source.

    Check out this sample page about Joan of Arc below.

    Bilingual Glossaries

    Use these glossaries to define words you don't understand on the regents exams.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip