This is the "Texts" page of the "GANGS" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GANGS   Tags: database research, gang research  

Research for topics relating to gangs. In coordination with study of book My Bloody Life
Last Updated: Jan 21, 2015 URL: http://flushinghighschool.libguides.com/gangs Print Guide RSS Updates

Texts Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books @ our library

ELA Standards: Reading Informational Text

Integration of Knowledge & Ideas

Integrate and evaluate multiple sources of information presented in different media or formats (e.g., visually, quantitatively) as well as in words in order to address a question or solve a problem.

 

BOOKS are far superior to articles because they often have more images and text. Books should be the first stop in every research plan. 

All the BOOKS below contain fantastic photographs that illustrate     the theme. Flushing High School Library has the books listed in the catalog.  Other BOOKS about       can be found at the Queens Public Library.

Cover Art
Gangs - Crabtree Publishing Company Staff; James Bow
ISBN: 0778721922
Publication Date: 2012-12-15

Cover Art
Hate Crimes - Laurie Willis
ISBN: 9780737728897
Publication Date: 2007-06-04

Cover Art
Hate Crimes - Michael V. Uschan
ISBN: 9781560066613
Publication Date: 2007-06-22

Cover Art
Youth in Prison - Roger Smith; Marsha & Smith McIntosh
ISBN: 1590849906
Publication Date: 2008-09-01

Cover Art
Gangs - Peggy Daniels
ISBN: 9780737738155
Publication Date: 2007-12-13

Cover Art
Gangs - Lori Hile
ISBN: 9781432965358
Publication Date: 2012-07-01

Cover Art
Gangs - Richard Swift; Jane Springer (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780888999795
Publication Date: 2011-03-29

Cover Art
Violent Crime - Allison Lassieur
ISBN: 9781432962081
Publication Date: 2011-07-01

ELA Writing Standard

ELA Standards: Writing—Research to Build and Present Knowledge

Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the usefulness of each source in answering the research question; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas, avoiding plagiarism and following a standard format for citation.

 
      
     

    Narrow the Topic

    Research questions are a great way to look for relevant articles.  As you read the articles create a list of questions which you would like to find out more about. These questions will focus your research and help you decide if the information is relevant and can be quoted in your paper.

    Here is a list of sample questions:

    What are the advantages of being in a gang?

    How are gangs useful in the United States?

    How do female gangs differ from male gangs?

    Why do teens join gangs?

    How does belonging to a gang influence the members?

    EBSCO HOST Research Databases

    Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)

    • Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)
      Gale Cengage Learning Databases are New York State funded databases available to public students in school and from home. The Database requires a password for home access--which cannot be posted but provided to you by the Flushing High School Librarians.

    Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database (NOVELNY)

    • Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database (NOVELNY)
      The Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database has articles listed in various Lexiles from 200 to 1000 plus. The Database requires a username and password for FHS Library and home access--which cannot be posted but provided to you by the Flushing High School Librarians.

    Libguide Creator

    Profile Image
    Ms. E. Frank Bayer, librarian
    Contact Info
    Flushing High School Library Media Center
    Send Email
     

    Keywords

    Using the best keywords will help you find relevant information for your topic.  Develop your keywords from the research questions.

    It is helpful to have similar or related terms in your list because different authors may use different terms in their articles.

    Below is a list of keywords you may use in your search.  Narrow down your search by linking some of the keywords together.

    • Teen gangs
    • Gangs in New York City
    • Girls and Gangs
    • Violence and Gangs
    • Gang Membership
    • Gang Recruitment
    • Gangs and Crime
    • Gangsta
    • Cliques

    FLUSHING HIGH SCHOOL LIBRARY CALENDAR

    • Flushing High School Library Calendar
      The Flushing High School Library Calendar allows teachers to see available dates to request library class research reservations. The FHS Library Calendar allows students to see class reservations and Student Open Access Periods (Lunch Periods).

    LIBRARY RESEARCH TASK #1

    ELA Standards: Writing

    Production and Distribution of Writing

    Use technology, including the Internet, to produce, publish, and update individual or shared writing products, taking advantage of technology’s capacity to link to other information and to display information flexibly and dynamically.

     

    Read 1-3 Books or Chapter Selections from BOOKS in the LibGuide.

    Record 5 facts and 5 responses to each fact on the Fact Response Journal Organizer.

    Type an Annotation for each Book or Chapter selection read (75-word summary and 75-word critique).

    * Teacher Assigned: Type a Research Paper about an assigned research topic.

    • Fact Response Journal
      Click on the Fact/Feel Journal Word File so that you may type on the document.
    • Article Annotation Model
      The Article Annotation PDF file is a model for format. The model shows an MLA citation, 75-word article summary, and 75-word critique of the article.
    • Librarian MLA Term Paper Model: Drug Abuse
      The Librarian MLA Term Paper Model shows students the finished product of a successful research that includes MLA In-Text citation and Works Cited page of Flushing High School Database resources and print resources.
    • Librarian MLA Term Paper with Images Model: Drug Abuse
      The Librarian MLA Term Paper with images Model shows students the finished product of a successful research that includes MLA In-Text citation and Works Cited page of Flushing High School Database resources and print resources. The paper makes use of an image from the Library of Congress website, sidebar of information from a book, and a chart from World Book Student Database.
     

    Topics for Mr. Marzian's Report

    Choose one of the following topics or come up with one of your own.  You must either agree or disagree with the topic.  Your paper must include one counterpoint and refutation but more than one is encouraged.

    1.  All gangs should be outlawed.

    2. Gangs are a part of society and should be allowed to exist.

    3. Joining a gang will make an individual corrupt.

    4. To be in a gang, you must give up who you are and be someone you are not.

    5.Being in a gang is like being in a family.

    6. Girls serve specific purposes in gangs.

    Research Guides from Odell Education

    • Exploring a Topic
      Use this guide to help you explore your topic.
      From ODELL Education.
    • Potential Sources
      This handout from Odell Education helps you organize your sources and judge the source's credibility, relevance and interest.
    • Forming Evidence Based Claims
      Use this form from ODELL Education to help you form evidence based claims.
    • Connecting Ideas
      This list of transitional words and phrases will help you write clearer. These words will help your audience understand the logic behind your arguments.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip