This is the "Texts" page of the "The Elizabethan Era" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Elizabethan Era  

Electronic and print resources for research into life and living conditions during the Elizabethan era.
Last Updated: Mar 2, 2017 URL: http://flushinghighschool.libguides.com/elizabethanresearchlibguide Print Guide RSS Updates

Texts Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

EBOOKS! THE ELIZABETHAN ERA

ELA Standards: Reading Informational Text

Integration of Knowledge & Ideas

Integrate and evaluate multiple sources of information presented in different media or formats (e.g., visually, quantitatively) as well as in words in order to address a question or solve a problem.

 

BOOKS are far superior to articles because they often have more images and text. Books should be the first stop in every research plan. 

All the BOOKS below contain fantastic photographs that capture the Elizabethan Era. Flushing High School Library has the books listed in the FHS LIBRARY DESTINY DISCOVER CATALOG.  Ask the Librarian for the username and password to access the Ebooks below online.

Cover Art
Elizabethan England - Russell Roberts
ISBN: 9781584158233
Publication Date: 2009-01-01

Cover Art
Elizabethan England - Kathy Elgin
ISBN: 1438127294
Publication Date: 2010-07-01

Cover Art
Medieval Food and Customs - Stuart A. Kallen
ISBN: 9781601527189
Publication Date: 2014-08-01

Cover Art
William Shakespeare - Pamela Hill Nettleton
ISBN: 9780756551858
Publication Date: 2016-07-01

Cover Art
Life in the Time of Shakespeare - Hal Marcovitz
ISBN: 9781601527790
Publication Date: 2015-01-01

Cover Art
Shakespeare and the Theater - Jane Shuter
ISBN: 9781432996437
Publication Date: 2014-01-01

Cover Art
Shakespeare's Globe Theater - David Robson
ISBN: 9781601525420
Publication Date: 2013-08-01

Website #1 Life in Elizabethan England

ELA Standards: Writing—Research to Build and Present Knowledge

Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the usefulness of each source in answering the research question; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas, avoiding plagiarism and following a standard format for citation.

 

 

Secara, Maggie Pierce.  Life In Elizabethan England.  28 March 2008. 2017.

  • Life In Elizabethan England
    The Life in Elizabethan England website is packed with notes on Elizabethan food, occupations, games, and pastimes, also religion, manners, attitudes, and education—the intimate details of daily life.

Website #2 Elizabethan England Life

Mahabal, Prasad. Elizabethan England Life.  2013. Web. 2017.

  • Elizabethan England Life
    The Elizabethan England Life site will give you information of daily life during the Elizabethan Era in England. It has information on Elizabehan Costumes, Fashion, Crime, Torture, Theater, Arts and Culture, Family, Children, Family, Education, Medicine and many other facts about the Elizabethan times. Elizabethan Era is considered as a golden Era in English History.

Website #3 Elizabethan Costume

Leed, Drea.  Elizabethan Costume Page. 2008. 2017.

  • Elizabethan Costume
    The Elizabethan Costume site is packed with information about many aspects of dress during the Elizabethan Era.

Website #4: The National Archives: The Black Presence In Britain

The National Archives.  The Black Presence in Britain.  The Black and Asian Studies Association.  n.d. 2017.

Website #5 Africans in Renaissance Europe

Kaufmann, Miranda. "The Black Face of Renaissance Europe."  History Today.  21 May 2013. 2017.

  • The Black Face of Renaissance Europe
    The HistoryToday article by Miranda Kaufmann, historian and freelance journalist, presents data about Africans living in England from 1480 to 1600s.

Website #6 Britain's First Black Community in Elizabethan London

"Britain's First Black Community In Elizabethan England." BBC News Magazine. 19 July 2012. 2017.

British Library: The Middle Ages

Bovey, Alixe. "Article Title." British Library. N.d. 

  • British Library: The Middle Ages
    Read articles written by expert Dr Alixe Bovey on the social history of the Middle Ages which explore the everyday lives of ordinary people as illustrated in illuminated manuscripts.

Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)

  • Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)
    Gale Cengage Learning Databases are New York State funded databases available to public students in school and from home. The Database requires a password for home access--which cannot be posted but provided to you by the Flushing High School Librarians.

Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database (NOVELNY)

  • Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database (NOVELNY)
    The Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database has articles listed in various Lexiles from 200 to 1000 plus. The Database requires a username and password for FHS Library and home access--which cannot be posted but provided to you by the Flushing High School Librarians.

Librarian

Profile Image
Miss Nixon, MLS
Contact Info
718-888-7500 Ext. 6060
Send Email

LIBRARY RESEARCH TASK #1

ELA Standards: Writing

Production and Distribution of Writing

Use technology, including the Internet, to produce, publish, and update individual or shared writing products, taking advantage of technology’s capacity to link to other information and to display information flexibly and dynamically.

 

Read 1-3 Books or Chapter Selections from BOOKS in the LibGuide.

Record 5 facts and 5 responses to each fact on the Fact Response Journal Organizer.

Type an Annotation for each Book or Chapter selection read (75-word summary and 75-word critique).

* Teacher Assigned: Type a Research Paper about an assigned research topic.

  • Fact Response Journal
    Click on the Fact/Feel Journal Word File so that you may type on the document.
  • Article Annotation Model
    The Article Annotation PDF file is a model for format. The model shows an MLA citation, 75-word article summary, and 75-word critique of the article.
  • Librarian MLA Term Paper Model: Drug Abuse
    The Librarian MLA Term Paper Model shows students the finished product of a successful research that includes MLA In-Text citation and Works Cited page of Flushing High School Database resources and print resources.
  • Librarian MLA Term Paper with Images Model: Drug Abuse
    The Librarian MLA Term Paper with images Model shows students the finished product of a successful research that includes MLA In-Text citation and Works Cited page of Flushing High School Database resources and print resources. The paper makes use of an image from the Library of Congress website, sidebar of information from a book, and a chart from World Book Student Database.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip