This is the "Print and Online Help" page of the "SAT, PSAT AND ACT PREP" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SAT, PSAT AND ACT PREP  

This libguide will guide you to sites to help with test preparation for college admissions tests.
Last Updated: Jan 19, 2017 URL: http://flushinghighschool.libguides.com/content.php?pid=628977 Print Guide RSS Updates

Print and Online Help Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books (Research Topic)

ELA Standards: Reading Informational Text

Integration of Knowledge & Ideas

Integrate and evaluate multiple sources of information presented in different media or formats (e.g., visually, quantitatively) as well as in words in order to address a question or solve a problem.

 

BOOKS are a simpler way to practice for the SAT and other college entrance exams.  They do not require battery life and are simple to use.

All the BOOKS below contain practice exams and answers. Flushing High School Library has the books listed in the catalog.  Other BOOKS about   college admissions tests    can be found at the Queens Public Library.

Many of the books have online study guides.  Sign up for the online help when you borrow the book.

Cover Art
ACT Assessment Plus Writing Test - Suzanne Coffield; Joseph T. Conklin; Anita Price Davis; Charles O. Brass
Call Number: 378.1 ACT
ISBN: 0738606707
Publication Date: 2011-03-15
5 full length practice exams for the ACT with answers. Includes content review.

Cover Art
CliffsNotes SAT Cram Plan 3rd Edition - Jane R. Burstein; William Ma
ISBN: 9780544577916
Publication Date: 2016-02-23

Cover Art
Are You Ready for the SAT and ACT?, 2nd Edition - Princeton Review
ISBN: 9781101882139
Publication Date: 2015-11-10

Cover Art
The Official Sat - College Board Staff
Call Number: 378.1
ISBN: 0874478529
Publication Date: 2009-07-21
The College Board Official Guide to the SAT.

Cover Art
11 Practice Tests for the SAT and PSAT, 2013 Edition - Princeton Review
ISBN: 0307944816
Publication Date: 2012-07-03
Princeton Review Guide to the SAT. Includes answers and explanations.

Website #1

ELA Standards: Writing—Research to Build and Present Knowledge

Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the usefulness of each source in answering the research question; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas, avoiding plagiarism and following a standard format for citation.

 
  • link title
  • College Board.org
    College Board.org is the official site of the organization which administers the SAT, PSAT and Advanced Placement tests.
  • PrepFactory  
      
    Interactive site to help you prepare for the SAT and ACT.
    Contains diagnostic test, breaks down questions and analyzes the skills needed to succeed.

Website #2

  • ACT.org
    ACT.org is another college admissions test. Many students take the ACT in addition to the SAT and use the scores which are higher.

Website #3

  • Shmoop.com
    Another test prep site for SAT, AP exams and college readiness.

EBSCO HOST Research Databases (NOVELNY)

      

    Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)

    • Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)
      Gale Cengage Learning Databases are New York State funded databases available to public students in school and from home. The Database requires a password for home access--which cannot be posted but provided to you by the Flushing High School Librarians.

    Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database (NOVELNY)

    • Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database (NOVELNY)
      The Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database has articles listed in various Lexiles from 200 to 1000 plus. The Database requires a username and password for FHS Library and home access--which cannot be posted but provided to you by the Flushing High School Librarians.

    Libguide Creator

    Profile Image
    Ms. E. Frank Bayer, librarian
    Contact Info
    Flushing High School Library Media Center
    Send Email

    PSAT PREP

    Understanding what you read is critical for college success. The PSAT tests your reading skills through sentence completion questions and critical reading passages. Practice them both here.

    Free Rice.com

    Practice your vocabulary and help feed the world.  For each answer you get right, the organization donates 10 grains of rice to the World Food Program.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip