This is the "Texts" page of the "Common Core Standards Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Common Core Standards Collection  

Common Core Standards Collection LibGuide presents links to the standards, teacher units, teacher lesson plans, and differentiation student activities.
Last Updated: Sep 14, 2016 URL: http://flushinghighschool.libguides.com/commoncore Print Guide RSS Updates
Texts Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Common Core Books

ELA Standards: Reading Informational Text

Integration of Knowledge & Ideas

Integrate and evaluate multiple sources of information presented in different media or formats (e.g., visually, quantitatively) as well as in words in order to address a question or solve a problem.

 

BOOKS are far superior to articles because they often have more images and text. Books should be the first stop in every research plan. 

All the BOOKS below contain fantastic information about strategies, resources, and templates to meet Common Core Standards across the curriculum. Flushing High School Library has the books listed below in the Library.  

Cover Art
Getting Results with Curriculum Mapping - Heidi Hayes Jacobs (Editor)
ISBN: 9780871209993
Publication Date: 2004-11-01

Cover Art
The Curriculum Mapping Planner - Heidi Hayes Jacobs; Ann Johnson
ISBN: 9781416608745
Publication Date: 2009-10-01

Cover Art
Leadership for Differentiating Schools and Classrooms - Carol A. Tomlinson; Susan D. Allan
ISBN: 9780871205025
Publication Date: 2000-12-01

Cover Art
Exploring Differentiated Instruction - Condy Strickland
ISBN: 9781416608349
Publication Date: 2009-04-01

Cover Art
Fulfilling the Promise of the Differentiated Classroom - Carol Ann Tomlinson
ISBN: 9780871208125
Publication Date: 2003-11-01

Cover Art
Do I Really Have to Teach Reading? - Cris Tovani
ISBN: 1571103767
Publication Date: 2004-01-01

Common Core State Standards Initiative

 

ELA Standards: History/Social Studies--Integration of Knowledge & Ideas 

  • Integrate and evaluate multiple sources of information presented in diverse formats and media (e.g., visually, quantitatively, as well as in words) in order to address a question or solve a problem.

 

National Governors Association.  Common Core Standards Initiative.  2012. Web. 2013-2014.

New York City DOE Common Core Library

 

New York City Department of Education.  Common Core Library.  2013.  Web.  2013-2014.

Lexile Framework For Reading

Meta Metrics Inc. Lexile: The Lexile Framework for Reading.  2013.  Web.  2013-2014.

  • The Lexile Framework For Reading
    The Lexile Framework For Reading is powered by MetaMetrics. MetraMetrics provides Lexile Readings for databases EBSCO and Grolier Encyclopedia. The Lexile Framework For Reading website presents short tutorial videos on how to find the Lexile of articles from websites--as well as other useful Lexile information. The videos are presented through YouTube but can also be viewed on SchoolTube.com.

The Teaching Channel

Teaching Channel.  Common Core Resources and Videos.  2013.  Web.  2013-2014.

  • The Teaching Channel
    The Teaching Channel site offers impressive strategy videos for teachers to meet the Common Core Standards in their classrooms. The impressive videos were also presented on PBS.

Literacy Design Collaborative

Literacy Design Collaborative.  LDC Template Tasks and Modules.  2013. Web.  2013-2014.

  • Literacy Design Collaborative
    Literacy Design Collaborative site presents templates, sample units, and videos that will assist teachers in meeting the Common Core Standards across the curriculum.

Scholastic: Archive of Differentiated Articles

Scholastic, Inc.  Scholastic Action:  Differentiated and Audio Articles.  2013.  Web.  2013-2014.

Ten Differentiation Tips

Phi Delta Kappa International.  10 Tips for Differentiating Instruction PDF.  N.d.  Web. 2013-2014.

Differentiated Instruction Guide

Alberta Education.  Differentiated Instruction: Elements of Effective Teaching Practice.  Government of Alberta.  2005.  Web.  2013-2014.

On Target: Strategies that Differentiate Instruction

South Dakota Education Service Agency.  On Target: Strategies That Differentiate Instruction.  South Dakota Department of Education.  2006.  Web.  2013-2014.

EBSCO HOST Research Databases

Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)

  • Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)
    Gale Cengage Learning Databases are New York State funded databases available to public students in school and from home. The Database requires a password for home access--which cannot be posted but provided to you by the Flushing High School Librarians.

Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database (NOVELNY)

  • Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database (NOVELNY)
    The Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database has articles listed in various Lexiles from 200 to 1000 plus. The Database requires a username and password for FHS Library and home access--which cannot be posted but provided to you by the Flushing High School Librarians.

Librarian

Profile Image
Miss Nixon, MLS
Contact Info
718-888-7500 Ext. 6060
Send Email
 

Lexile Professional Development Agenda

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip