This is the "Texts" page of the "College and Career Readiness" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

College and Career Readiness  

Career sites for career exploration for Grades 9-12.
Last Updated: Nov 2, 2017 URL: http://flushinghighschool.libguides.com/collegeandcareerreadiness Print Guide RSS Updates

Texts Print Page
  Search: 
 

FLUSHING HIGH SCHOOL LIBRRY EBOOKS

  • FHS LIBRARY EBOOKS LOG-IN
    Request Log-In and Password from the FHS Librarians. Be sure to click on "Digital" in order to read the Ebooks online.
 

Books (Research Topic)

ELA Standards: Reading Informational Text

Integration of Knowledge & Ideas

Integrate and evaluate multiple sources of information presented in different media or formats (e.g., visually, quantitatively) as well as in words in order to address a question or solve a problem.

 

BOOKS are far superior to articles because they often have more images and text. Books should be the first stop in every research plan. 

All the BOOKS below contain fantastic photographs that capture career occupations. Flushing High School Library has the books listed in the catalog.  Other BOOKS about careers can be found at the Queens Public Library.

Cover Art
Presenting Yourself - Christie Marlowe
ISBN: 9781422228982
Publication Date: 2013-01-01

Cover Art
Police Officer - Louise Spilsbury
ISBN: 9781499407907
Publication Date: 2015-07-15

Cover Art
Firefighter - Louise Spilsbury
ISBN: 9781499408027
Publication Date: 2015-07-15

Cover Art
Emergency Medical Technician - Louise Spilsbury
ISBN: 9781499408065
Publication Date: 2015-07-15

Cover Art
Lifeguard - Louise Spilsbury
ISBN: 9781499407945
Publication Date: 2015-07-15

Cover Art
Interpreter - Tamra Orr
ISBN: 9781602797055
Publication Date: 2009-08-01

Cover Art
Nurse - Rae Simons; Viola Ruelke Gommer; Ernestine G. Riggs (Editor); Cheryl Gholar (Editor)
ISBN: 1422290573
Publication Date: 2014-09-02

Cover Art
Sports Medicine Doctor - Samantha Bell
ISBN: 9781633627444
Publication Date: 2015-08-01

Cover Art
Professional Athlete and Sports Official - Joyce Libal; Rae Simons; Ernestine G. Riggs (Editor); Cheryl Gholar (Editor)
ISBN: 142229059X
Publication Date: 2014-09-02

Cover Art
Health Careers in Sports - Michael Burgan; Al Ferrer (Editor)
ISBN: 9781422285268
Publication Date: 2015-01-01

Cover Art
Physicians - Ferguson
ISBN: 9780816080274
Publication Date: 2010-12-01

Cover Art
Jump-Starting a Career in Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation - Marcia Amidon Lusted
ISBN: 9781477717042
Publication Date: 2013-12-15

Cover Art
Working As a Physical Therapist in Your Community - David Kassnoff
ISBN: 9781499461107
Publication Date: 2015-07-15

Cover Art
Jump-Starting Careers As Medical Assistants and Certified Nursing Assistants - Jennifer Culp
ISBN: 9781477716984
Publication Date: 2013-12-15

Cover Art
Special Education Teacher - Ellyn Sanna; Ernestine G. Riggs (Editor); Cheryl Gholar (Editor)
ISBN: 1422290638
Publication Date: 2014-09-02

Cover Art
Electrician - Ellen Labrecque
ISBN: 9781634711616
Publication Date: 2016-08-01

Cover Art
Car Mechanic - Christie Marlowe
ISBN: 9781422228890
Publication Date: 2013-01-01

Cover Art
Chef - Ellen Labrecque
ISBN: 9781634711593
Publication Date: 2016-08-01

Cover Art
Cosmetologist - Christie Marlowe
ISBN: 9781422228913
Publication Date: 2013-01-01

Cover Art
Actor - Barbara Somervill
ISBN: 9781610801379
Publication Date: 2011-08-01

Cover Art
Musician - Barbara Somervill
ISBN: 9781610801409
Publication Date: 2011-08-01

Cover Art
Careers in the US Army - Earle Rice
ISBN: 9780766069435
Publication Date: 2015-07-15

Cover Art
Careers in the US Marine Corps - Taylor Baldwin Kiland; R. Conrad Stein
ISBN: 9780766069473
Publication Date: 2015-07-15

Cover Art
Careers in the US Navy - Taylor Baldwin Kiland
ISBN: 9780766069497
Publication Date: 2015-07-15

Bureau of Labor Occupational Handbook (#1)

ELA Standards: Writing—Research to Build and Present Knowledge

Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the usefulness of each source in answering the research question; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas, avoiding plagiarism and following a standard format for citation.

 Bureau of Labor Statistics. Occupational Outlook Handbook: A-Z Index. United States Department of Labor.  2017.

 

Bureau of Labor Statistics for Students #2

Bureau of Labor Statistics.  Exploring Career Information.  2017.

  • Bureau of Labor Statistics for Students
    Bureau of Labor Statistics for Students site presents information about career choices in a colorful interface, short passages, and basic to intermediate level vocabulary (BASIC/INTERMEDIATE).

Career One Stop: Pathways to Career Success (#3)

 

United States Department of Labor.  Career OneStop: Pathways to Career Success.  2017.

  • Career One Stop: Pathways to Career Success
    Career One Stop: Pathways to Career Success site allows viewers to research careers by state, locate colleges for specific careers, view short career videos, and a host of useful career information (ADVANCED).

College Board #4

The College Board.  2014. Web. 2015-2016.

  • College Board
    College Board is a not-for-profit membership organization whose mission is to connect students to college opportunities (INTERMEDIATE/ADVANCED).

BRITANNICA ENCYCLOPEDIA

Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)

  • Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)
    Gale Cengage Learning Databases are New York State funded databases available to public students in school and from home. The Database requires a password for home access--which cannot be posted but provided to you by the Flushing High School Librarians.

Librarian

Profile Image
Miss Nixon, MLS
Contact Info
718-888-7500 Ext. 6060
Send Email

FLUSHING HIGH SCHOOL LIBRARY CALENDAR

  • Flushing High School Library Calendar
    The Flushing High School Library Calendar allows teachers to see available dates to request library class research reservations. The FHS Library Calendar allows students to see class reservations and Student Open Access Periods (Lunch Periods).

Research Task

ELA Standards: Writing

Production and Distribution of Writing

Use technology, including the Internet, to produce, publish, and update individual or shared writing products, taking advantage of technology’s capacity to link to other information and to display information flexibly and dynamically.

 

 

CLICK ON: KIDS GOV JOB LIST A-Z link below: Complete TASK 1-6.

Read 1 Book or Chapter Selections from a BOOK in the LibGuide.

Record 5 facts and 5 responses to each fact on the Fact/Feel Journal Organizer.

Career Book Notes (Print)

  • Career Book Notes
    The Career Book Notes provide examples of the Common Core Standards research skills below:

    1. MLA In-Text Citation (Site Evidence)

    2. Works Cited Citation (Site Evidence)

    3. Notetaking Skills (Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources CCSS.ELA-Literacy.W.9-10;11-12.8

    4. Transitional Expressions (Language Progressive Skills L.4.3a.)
  • Career Book Fact Response Journal VISUAL
    The Career Fact Response Journal Visual Model allows students to see clear expectations on writing responses to facts.

Career Occupational Outlook Handbook Notes (Electronic)

  • Career Occupational Outlook Notes
    The Career Occupational Outlook Handbook Notes provide examples of the Common Core Standards research skills below:

    1. MLA In-Text Citation (Site Evidence)

    2. Works Cited Citation (Site Evidence)

    3. Notetaking Skills (Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources CCSS.ELA-Literacy.W.9-10;11-12.8

    4. Transitional Expressions (Language Progressive Skills L.4.3a.)

Career Database Article Notes (GALE)

  • Career Database Article Notes (GALE)
    The Career Database Article Notes provide examples of the Common Core Standards research skills below:

    1. MLA In-Text Citation (Site Evidence)

    2. Works Cited Citation (Site Evidence)

    3. Notetaking Skills (Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources CCSS.ELA-Literacy.W.9-10;11-12.8

    4. Transitional Expressions (Language Progressive Skills L.4.3a.)

Career Research Paper

RESUME MODELS

RESUME VERBS

  • Power Verbs For Your Resume
    Power Verbs For Your Resume lists verbs according to categories and presents examples of how to use the verbs.

RESUME RESOURCES

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip