Articles and Databases LibGuide is a general list of government, organization, news websites, online documentary films, and Flushing High School databases for research across the curriculum.
Last Updated: Aug 3, 2017
ELA Standards: Reading Informational Text
Integration of Knowledge & Ideas
Integrate and evaluate multiple sources of information presented in different media or formats (e.g., visually, quantitatively) as well as in words in order to address a question or solve a problem.
BOOKS are far superior to articles because they often have more images and text. Books should be the first stop in every research plan.
Search for BOOKS in the Flushing High School Destiny Catalog on your topic. Other BOOKS about your topic can be found at the Queens Public Library.
- ProQuest eLibrary
ProQuest eLibrary Database provides access to newspaper articles, magazine articles, maps, pictures, audio/video sources, and transcripts for research topics. Articles are a range from basic to intermediate reading levels.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online
1. Over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes)
2. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more
3. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue
4. Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere
5. Primarily in English - also includes other languages
- Nineteenth Century Collections
The most ambitious scholarly digitization and publication program ever undertaken, Nineteenth Century Collections Online is invaluable to research and teaching in one of the most studied historical periods. Rare primary sources, curated by an international team of experts, provide never-before-possible access to important works sourced from leading libraries worldwide. Users will find millions of full-text, fully searchable pages that enhance historical scholarship and provide an intriguing window into a bygone era.
- GALE CUNY ACCESS for NYC SCHOOLS: Slavery & Anti-Slavery
You have access to the following:
Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition
Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World
Part III: The Institution of Slavery
Part IV: The Age of Emancipation.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
- GALE CUNY ACCESS for NYC SCHOOLS: The Economist
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2011. Full-colour images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue - all combine to offer a unique primary source covering the 19th and 20th centuries.
- GALE CUNY ACCESS for NYC SCHOOLS: The Making of the Modern World
1. Over 62,400 titles
2. Includes books, serials, pamphlets, essays and more
3. Sourced from leading collections at major libraries around the world
4. Tracks the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth
5. Titles are in English as well as many other languages
ELA Standards: Writing—Research to Build and Present Knowledge
Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the usefulness of each source in answering the research question; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas, avoiding plagiarism and following a standard format for citation.
National Institute on Drug Abuse. The Science Behind Drug Abuse. Teens.drugabuse.gov. 2015. Web. 2015-2016.
Office of Women's Health. Girls Health.gov. United States Department of Health and Human Services. n.d. Web. 2015-2016.
- Girls Health.gov
Girlshealth.gov offers girls ages 10 to 16 reliable, useful information on health and well-being. We cover hundreds of topics, from getting your period to stopping bullies, and from getting fit to preventing sexually transmitted infections. We make our pages clear and fun, and we make sure to answer key questions girls ask. Girlshealth.gov is committed to empowering girls to create strong, positive relationships and happy, healthy futures.
The Nemours Foundation. Teens Health from Nemours. Teens Health.org. 2015. Web. 2015-2016.
ELA Standards: Writing
Production and Distribution of Writing
Use technology, including the Internet, to produce, publish, and update individual or shared writing products, taking advantage of technology’s capacity to link to other information and to display information flexibly and dynamically.
Read 1-3 Books or Chapter Selections from BOOKS in the LibGuide.
Record 5 facts and 5 responses to each fact on the Fact Response Journal Organizer.
Type an Annotation for each Book or Chapter selection read (75-word summary and 75-word critique).
* Teacher Assigned: Type a Research Paper about an assigned research topic.
- Fact Response Journal
Click on the Fact/Feel Journal Word File so that you may type on the document.
- Article Annotation Model
The Article Annotation PDF file is a model for format. The model shows an MLA citation, 75-word article summary, and 75-word critique of the article.
- Librarian MLA Term Paper Model: Drug Abuse
The Librarian MLA Term Paper Model shows students the finished product of a successful research that includes MLA In-Text citation and Works Cited page of Flushing High School Database resources and print resources.
- Librarian MLA Term Paper with Images Model: Drug Abuse
The Librarian MLA Term Paper with images Model shows students the finished product of a successful research that includes MLA In-Text citation and Works Cited page of Flushing High School Database resources and print resources. The paper makes use of an image from the Library of Congress website, sidebar of information from a book, and a chart from World Book Student Database.
- Career Book Notes
The Career Book Notes provide examples of the Common Core Standards research skills below:
1. MLA In-Text Citation (Site Evidence)
2. Works Cited Citation (Site Evidence)
3. Notetaking Skills (Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources CCSS.ELA-Literacy.W.9-10;11-12.8
4. Transitional Expressions (Language Progressive Skills L.4.3a.)
- Career Book Fact Response Journal VISUAL
The Career Fact Response Journal Visual Model allows students to see clear expectations on writing responses to facts.