This is the "Texts" page of the "African and African American Slave Experience" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

African and African American Slave Experience  

African and African American Slave Experience LibGuide presents information on the origin of the TransAtlantic Slave Trade, living and working conditions in enslavement, slave escapes and rebellions, and abolotionist movements.
Last Updated: Oct 12, 2013 URL: http://flushinghighschool.libguides.com/africanslaveexperience Print Guide RSS Updates
Texts Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Slavery

ELA Standards: Reading Informational Text

Integration of Knowledge & Ideas

Integrate and evaluate multiple sources of information presented in different media or formats (e.g., visually, quantitatively) as well as in words in order to address a question or solve a problem.

 

BOOKS are far superior to articles because they often have more images and text. Books should be the first stop in every research plan. 

All the BOOKS below contain fantastic photographs that capture the African and African American slave experience. Flushing High School Library has the books listed in the catalog.  Other BOOKS about the African and African American slave experience can be found at the Queens Public Library

Cover Art
The Atlantic Slave Trade - Don Nardo
ISBN: 9781420500073
Publication Date: 2007-12-14

Cover Art
The Slave Trade and the Middle Passage - S. Pearl Sharp
ISBN: 9780761421764
Publication Date: 2006-09-01

Cover Art
Slave Rebellions - Jessica A. Gresko
ISBN: 9781590185483
Publication Date: 2006-10-06

Cover Art
Slavery and Resistance - Anne Devereaux Jordan
ISBN: 9780761421788
Publication Date: 2006-09-01

Cover Art
Slave Uprisings and Runaways - Ann E. Eskridge
ISBN: 0766021548
Publication Date: 2004-12-01

Cover Art
The Quest for Freedom - Stephen Currie
ISBN: 1590187032
Publication Date: 2005-08-12

Cover Art
Sugar Changed the World - Marc Aronson; Marina Tamar Budhos
ISBN: 9780618574926
Publication Date: 2010-11-15

Cover Art
Braving the New World - Don Nardo
ISBN: 0791022595
Publication Date: 1994-10-01

Cover Art
Slavery in America - Dorothy Schneider; Carl J. Schneider
ISBN: 0816038635
Publication Date: 2000-08-01

Cover Art
African-Americans in the Colonies - Jean Kinney Williams
ISBN: 0756503035
Publication Date: 2002-07-01

Cover Art
The Slave Trade in America - Richard Worth
ISBN: 0766021513
Publication Date: 2004-06-01

Cover Art
A Peculiar Institution - Stephen Currie
ISBN: 1590187040
Publication Date: 2005-07-01

Cover Art
Slave Life on the Plantation - Richard Worth
ISBN: 0766021521
Publication Date: 2004-07-01

Cover Art
Slavery in New York - Leslie Harris (Editor); Ira Berlin (Editor)
ISBN: 1565849973
Publication Date: 2005-10-01

Cover Art
Africans in America - Richard Worth
ISBN: 0816056919
Publication Date: 2004-11-01

Cover Art
The Gathering Storm - Darlene Clark Hine (Editor); Clayborne Carson (Editor); Robert Harris
ISBN: 0791022528
Publication Date: 1994-01-01

Cover Art
The Politics of Slavery - Linda Jacobs Altman
ISBN: 0766021505
Publication Date: 2004-10-01

Cover Art
The Rise and Fall of American Slavery - Tim McNeese
ISBN: 0766021564
Publication Date: 2004-06-01

Cover Art
Voices from Slavery's Past - Suzanne Cloud Tapper
ISBN: 0766021572
Publication Date: 2004-10-01

Cover Art
The Thirteenth Amendment - Elizabeth Schleichert
ISBN: 0894909231
Publication Date: 1998-07-01

Cover Art
Reparations for Slavery - Cherese Cartlidge
ISBN: 9781590188682
Publication Date: 2007-12-14

Slavery and the Making of America (PBS)

ELA Standards: Writing—Research to Build and Present Knowledge

Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the usefulness of each source in answering the research question; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas, avoiding plagiarism and following a standard format for citation.

 

PBS. Slavery and the Making of America.  2004. Web. 2013-2014.

Africans in America (PBS)

PBS. Africans in America. 1998. Web. 2013-2014.

  • PBS. Africans in America.
    PBS. Africans in America site presents the TransAtlantic Slave Trade origin, living conditions in America, and events leading up to the Civil War.

In Motion: The African American Migration Experience

The Schomberg Center for Research in Black Culture. In Motion:The African American Migration Experience. The New York Public Library. 2005. Web. 2013-2014.

African American Odyssey: Slavery. Library of Congress

Library of Congress. Slavery: The Peculiar Institution. N.d. Web. 2013-2014.

Library of Congress: American Memory

Library of Congress. American Memory: Voices from the Days of Slavery. N.d. Web. 2013-2014.

EBSCO HOST Research Databases (NOVELNY)

      

    Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)

    • Gale Cengage Learning Databases (NOVELNY)
      Gale Cengage Learning Databases are New York State funded databases available to public students in school and from home. The Database requires a password for home access--which cannot be posted but provided to you by the Flushing High School Librarians.

    Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database (NOVELNY)

    • Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database (NOVELNY)
      The Grolier Online Encyclopedia Database has articles listed in various Lexiles from 200 to 1000 plus. The Database requires a username and password for FHS Library and home access--which cannot be posted but provided to you by the Flushing High School Librarians.

    Librarian

    Profile Image
    Miss Nixon, MLS
    Contact Info
    718-888-7500 Ext. 6060
    Send Email

    LIBRARY RESEARCH TASK #1

    ELA Standards: Writing

    Production and Distribution of Writing

    Use technology, including the Internet, to produce, publish, and update individual or shared writing products, taking advantage of technology’s capacity to link to other information and to display information flexibly and dynamically.

     

    Read 1-3 Books or Chapter Selections from BOOKS in the LibGuide.

    Record 5 facts and 5 responses to each fact on the Fact Response Journal Organizer.

    Type an Annotation for each Book or Chapter selection read (75-word summary and 75-word critique).

    LIBRARY RESEARCH TASK #3

    Research 1 Website Link selection from the LibGuide.

    Record 5 facts and 5 responses to each fact on the Fact Response Journal Organizer.

    Type an Annotation for the selected website link  (75-word summary and 75-word critique).

    LIBRARY RESEARCH TASK #4

     Publish your topic research findings (based on teacher instructions for options below):

    Microsoft Office Word 2007           

    Argument, Informative, or

         Explanatory Essay

    Narrative or Term Paper

    Microsoft Office PowerPoint 2007:

     PowerPoint Presentation 

    Microsoft Office Publisher 2007:

    Poster, Pamphlet, or Brochure

    Newsletter or Timeline

    Digital Camera:

    3-5 minute Documentary Short  Film

     

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip